Skip to content

Ultra Delusional?

December 5, 2007

Not me.

So, Karen’s friend Julie (the lovely person who turned me on to the women’s running group her) also is running with the local ultra running group.  The ultra group meets on Tuesdays, Thursdays, Saturdays and Sundays.  Chet also runs with the ultra group periodically.  Normally, Chet doesn’t run with them until later in the winter/early spring as that is typically when he begins to gear up for his race season.  But, he’s starting earlier since he’s signed up for the Coyote Two Moons 100 miler at the end of March.

Because I aspire to run the Way Too Cool (we’ll see if I can make it in on Sunday in the predicted less than 10 minute sell out time) this March, I’ve been planning on joining the ultra group after the beginning of the New Year.  Now, let me explain a little here – I know it sounds CRAZY to want to jump from a half-marathon to a 50k, and admittedly, it is crazy.  Is it smart, maybe?  Maybe not?  But, I like to push myself to extraordinary limits.  And, because Way Too Cool is on a relatively easy course mostly all trail, has good support and such, I figure it would be fun to get out there and do it.  I’m not planning on doing it in any type of record time.  In fact, I’m just planning on finishing, and ideally not last, but if I’m last, I don’t really care.

So, Julie and another lady at the run last night were talking about the group on Saturday.  On my drive home, I got to thinking – I need to get a longer run in this weekend.  Now, I am not going to do the 13 miles to the top of Peavine Mountain, as planned by the group, but I should get between 7-9 miles in this weekend.  I also realized that the plan is for G to spend Friday with Grandma and Grandpa – giving Chet and I a much needed date/shopping evening – also leaving the potential for Grandma and Grandpa to watch G for a while longer on Saturday morning allowing Chet AND me to go run.  More grinding of the gears in my head and I realized, I could *start* out with the ultra group and just do my über pokie pace and in about the same amount of time that Chet will do the 13 miles, I can get my 7-9 miles. 

What a great idea!  So, I talked to Chet last night about my *idea* and we’re set.  I just have to finalize the confirmation with my mom, but it should work out.  I’m excited at the prospect. 

Maybe I’m ultra delusional, maybe I’m not.  But, I’m feeling focused on a goal.  And that is what I really need right now.  A tangible get my butt in gear goal and some people to work out with periodically to keep me accountable.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

