Skip to content

I’m It!

December 11, 2007

Karen “tagged” me for this little meme. It’s a way to get to know our RBF (“running blog family”) a little better. So, I’ve tagged a few people who don’t know me from Adam, but I read their blogs, I like what they say, and because I’m an introvert, this is my way of reaching out.

1. Wrapping paper or gift bag? Mostly wrapping paper except for when I’m either extraordinarily busy, lazy or it’s just one of those extraordinarily difficult items to wrap.

2. Real tree or artificial? In my opinion a fake tree is a mortal sin against the season. I can’t imagine not having the fresh evergreen smell in my house. I can’t imagine not going out and cutting our own fresh Christmas tree. I can’t imagine not having fresh boughs to make wreaths with. It’s such a lovely experience. I can’t take no fake – real all the way for me.

3. When do you put up your tree? Depends, we like to try to get it up shortly after Thanksgiving. There’s been some years it’s been shortly before Christmas. But, I think as G gets older, we’re getting more consistent in this. We do enjoy going and cutting our tree the weekend after Thanksgiving. It’s just sometimes the tree will sit in a bucket of water for a week or two after than. Not this year though!

4. When do you take down your tree? The weekend after Christmas or right about New Year’s. Except for the year we purchased a tree from a local big box home improvement store – that tree came down Christmas Day eve as the thing was a bloody fire hazard and was ready to spontaneously combust. Don’t get me started on commercial tree lot trees and such – after living in Oregon and witnessing when they actually begin to cut trees down (HALLOWEEN for goodness sake!) we knew better than to buy a tree and we’ll likely never do it again if we can avoid it.

5. Do you like eggnog? There are people who don’t like eggnog!?!? Though, I will admit that I like Silk Soy Nog the BEST – I think it tastes as good as the “real” thing and is oh so much better for you. I can drink a quart and not feel totally guilty! Do that with the “real” thing.

6. Favorite gift received as a child? Gosh…I have to say Charlie, my Siamese kitten. That was a cool Christmas. There are lots and lots of wonderful memories of favorite gifts though.

7. Do you have a nativity scene? Yes, a small one. I want to get a really nice one someday.

8. Hardest person to buy for? Parents/In-laws regularly – it seems every year one or two stump us. But, for me really, Chet. It’s kind of an oxymoron of hard – because really he’s easy if you don’t feel like being creative or trying to surprise him – Carhartt pants, running socks, Patagonia long underwear – that’s what he asks for every year. So, it’s always a challenge to come up with things that are not on his radar.

9. Easiest person to buy for? Gabriel’s pretty easy, and Chet’s easy – if – see the above answer. ;o)

10. Worst Christmas gift you’ve ever received? I can’t really think of anything off hand that was a worst. I don’t ever remember hating anything. Closest I can come up with is the board-game “Mousetrap” I wanted it sooooo bad, and I got it! But the damn thing was missing pieces/parts so you couldn’t set the game up. It was sold out everywhere when we went to try to exchange it and back-ordered. I never got my Mousetrap game. Huge bummer. I’m still bummed about that. Darn manufacturer…darn you and your crappy quality control.

11. Mail or email Christmas cards? Smail mail – do people really email Christmas cards? Wow, that’s a shame.

12. Favorite Christmas movie? The original Miracle on 34th Street and How the Grinch Stole Christmas (animated – NOT the Jim Carey version).

13. When do you start shopping for Christmas? Generally around Mid-November. We’ll start picking up one or two things, but the bulk is done early December most of the time.

14. Have you ever recycled a Christmas present? Yes. I got a “white elephant” (though it was new in the box) one year at a work Christmas party and it was actually something I thought my dad would get a kick out of, so he got it for Christmas.

15. Favorite thing to eat at Christmas? You know, there’s really nothing that I hold secret at Christmas (unlike Thanksgiving). I guess it would be eggnog (Silk nog) and the Coffeemate Peppermint Mocha creamer. I am rather partial to our regular Christmas dinner of prime rib (though we’re doing roast beef tenderloin this year). Ooh, I also love having a few of the Brach’s Peppermint nougats!

16. White or colored lights? White lights on the tree and outside. For my office window – colored lights (white would just too bla).

17. Favorite Christmas song? Favorite classic Christmas song – I have to pick one? Naww…The First Noel, Oh Holy Night, Joy to the World. Favorite “Fun” Christmas songs – Dominick the Donkey and I Want a Hippopotamus for Christmas.

18. Traveling for Christmas or stay home? Staying home.

19. Can you name all of Santa’s reindeers? Dasher, Dancer, Prancer, Vixen, Comet Cupid, Donner, Blitzen & RUDOLPH.

20. Angel or Star on top of tree? Star for now. We will likely change at some point. But, whenever I see an angle on the top of a tree, I always think of the joke about how and angel…well, you know.

21. Open presents Christmas Eve or Morning? My family tradition is that the child/children gets to open one gift on Christmas eve and then all the rest are opened on Christmas morning. We’re keeping that tradition.

22. Most annoying thing about this time of year? Rude people. How the daily hustle and bustle just seems to be super charged and people forget to enjoy why they celebrate the season.

23. What I love most about Christmas? The entire season. I love the music, I love the cold weather, I love spending this quality time with my family, I love buying gifts for family and especially the “adopted” families we buy for, I love looking at all the lights, and I love celebrating Christ’s birth.

Now my turn to play tag! Andrew, Susan, Katiebell, Sarah, and Kranky. I kind of cheated here – y’all are runners, but I’m not 100-percent certain you are all RBFers.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. December 12, 2007 8:12 AM

    Thanks for the tag! I’ve never been tagged before; does this mean I’ve made it as a blogger? I posted my answers on my blog today. Merry Christmas!

  2. nevadamtnbear permalink*
    December 12, 2007 9:32 AM

    Yah! I’m so glad I tagged you! Yes, I think you’ve made it!

    Merry Christmas too you too!

  3. December 12, 2007 6:58 PM

    I’m such a dork…

    I was wondering what happened to you – you hadn’t posted in Vox for a while and I figured you were busy. After you commented in my injury post I visited your blog and realized that somehow I missed your move over to WordPress! Ack!

    I’ve got some catching up to do. I agree, though, that one huge drawback of Vox is that non-members can’t comment. Sorry I missed out on so much excitement!

Leave a Reply

