Skip to content

SHUT UP!

December 11, 2007

Okay, so this entry is titled “SHUT UP!” I mean, this is a Stacy London (from TLC’s What Not To Wear) kind of “SHUT UP.” I ran 4.1 miles tonight – and I didn’t do all that shabby. No, wait, I freaking kicked ass! I kick my ass! I’m so totally stoked!!! I ran with some of the ladies for the first 2+ miles of the run. It was pushing me so far out of my normal “comfort” zone, but I knew it was good for me and I need that push to move me from uber slow to just slow. Don’t get me wrong, there’s nothing – absolutely nothing – wrong with being uber slow, but I want to finish Way Too Cool in the allotted 8.5 hour cut-off. So, that means I need to work on my speed. And it is very good to move me out of my 13-14 min mile comfort zone.

So, tonight I pushed. I pushed hard and I’m so glad I did. I felt great! Well, that was for the first 2+ miles. The last 2+ miles wasn’t bad at all, especially looking at my splits, it only took me a minute longer for the second 2 miles than it did for the first, but I felt much worse that last 2 miles.

So, remember the gangly person from jr. high school or even high school gym class? Remember the one that you would see head out on the track and they weren’t fast or anything, but they would give it their all for about 50-100 meters and then they would stop and walk for a while and repeat their effort to run the laps and do it fast. Maybe that person was you . . . and as you were running you were there trying so hard to just keep up the pace, but suddenly your lungs would burn, your legs would feel so tired, it was all you could do to try to make it to that mark on the track you had picked out to run to and then when you made it you would suddenly stop running eternally grateful for the break but knowing that you still had so far to go, and there were the “fast” kids who were already done and you just felt awful so you would again push yourself to run, repeating that cycle. Begging in your mind for the agony of the experience to be over.

Well, that was me for the last two miles. I knew I had gone at a decent clip my first half, so I didn’t want to blow my pace on the second half. Also, the ladies I was running with, I didn’t want to be totally left in the dust by them. But, my lungs burning, my legs leaded, it was all I could do. After taking a short walking break I would begin running again, eager to get it over with, not wanting to be out there enduring the agony any longer, but after a while my body would just say no more and I would heed.

Then, I had a moment. Back in the deep recesses of my brain through all the layers of dust and cobwebs, the former athlete within started to whisper ever so faintly – the pain is only for a moment. You won’t excel if you don’t push your limits. That former “grit” and determination came through and I found it within myself to just dig in deep and push it through to the end. And, IT FELT GOOD!

I pulled a 10:59 min./mile pace out of my corn hole for this run! And the first two miles were at a 10:41 min./mile pace. I would swear that I didn’t maintain practically the same pace for the last half, but the numbers can’t lie. I’m so thrilled. I would like to be able to run 5 miles at a 9 min mile pace by the time I get to Cool. That might be a bit too optimistic, but I think it’s something that I can certainly work on. Whatever it is, I’m happy.

Now, I just need to figure out how to deal with my RBS (Runners Bowel Syndrome) that I’m getting every Tuesday evening. I don’t know what the deal is, but after I finish my run on Tuesday evenings, my gut is just a mess. I’m thinking its dehydration (I still have not been hydrating well enough) or lack of food before I head out. I don’t know what it is, but I’m tired of feeling this way at the end of a great run. It kind of takes some of the shine off the feelings I have at the end of the day.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. December 12, 2007 10:50 AM

    Yay!!!!!

    We are running about the same pace these days.(My comfort zone pace is 11:30-11:45. I ran in an agonizing Turkey trot this year where I got lined up accidently with the faster folks and it was just like doing speed work….which did nothing for my time in the end!
    Are you sure you don’t want to enter the Canyonlands Lottery with my team? (We are all running the half, but we opted to be selected as a team or no one goes) in Moab?
    Then I would have someone to run with…
    🙂

    PS, I did the meme you tagged me for, I am not part of the runners blog network, but recently I have been thinking about moving over to Live journal or blogspot, so mere mortals can comment rather than just voxers.

  2. nevadamtnbear permalink*
    December 12, 2007 12:49 PM

    Yahh! I’m so glad you came to “visit.” That’s why I moved blog hosting sites. The fact that only the registered ones could comment was just too restrictive.

    I would TOTALLY do Canyonlands – except I’m already signed up for the Way Too Cool set for the same day. Bummer – next year!

  3. December 21, 2007 5:26 AM

    Wow you totally kick ass!
    BTW I’m glad I can now leave comments. 🙂
    Miss you girl!

Leave a Reply

