Skip to content

Swollen . . .

December 17, 2007

Edema (American English), oedema or œdema (British English), formerly known as dropsy or hydropsy, is the increase of interstitial fluid in any organ — swelling. Generally, the amount of interstitial fluid is in the balance of homeostasis. Increased secretion of fluid into the interstitium or impaired removal of this fluid may cause edema.

This is my arch enemy currently. Yes, water retention. Somehow I gained 3 pounds – YES 3 – since Friday. No, I did not eat a house, I did not eat like crap, I ate reasonable and was good. No, instead, I ran.

And using my own knowledge in human physiology, Chet’s experience, and a little *hope* I’m thinking my body is just retaining a lot of water as I’m ramping up. But, even having an explanation doesn’t make me feel any better. No, in fact, I’m still very grumpy about it all.

The only reason I’m not bawling all this extra fluid out of me is the fact that when I weighed in at today’s meeting I was down .8 lbs from last week. Nothing spectacular, but it is movement in the right direction.

I would really like to be with 10 lbs of my goal weight by the time I run cool – but that’s another 20 lbs. At the rate I’m going, I’ll be luck to be 10 lbs down by then. Ugh. Oh well. slow and steady wins this race.

I can’t help but wonder if Weight Watchers will keep up with the increased level of activity for me right now. The program is designed for a “moderate” amount of exercise – and at my weight doing what I’m doing (even going as slow as I am) exceeds their “moderate” definition of exercise. I might have to meet with a nutritionist to evaluate what I’m eating, the types of foods I’m eating in comparison with the level of activity I’m doing. We’ll have to see. I’m going to give it a few weeks.

I’m going to do my weigh ins on Fridays for the next couple weeks and see if that makes a difference. Doing my weigh-in the morning after a big run may just ultimately set me up for disappointment on a regular basis.

If it ain’t one thing, it’s another.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

