Skip to content

Log: Happy New Year Run

January 1, 2008

The Silver State Striders (they are planning on launching a new website this month, so please excuse the website they’ve got right now), the local running club, has an annual New Year’s Day run. The run, a 5.75 mile run was a whole heck of a lot of fun.

Everyone headed out toward downtown Reno. At the intersection of 6th and Virginia everyone waited for the whole group. Then we all ran down Virginia street whoop’n and hollering like a big goofy group of fools. At the “famous” or “infamous” Reno Arch the whole group, probably about a total of 30-40 people stopped under the Arch for a photo opportunity. P.S. Sorry for the line of cars waiting for all us goof balls to take our picture.

Then we headed down to the City Christmas Tree (I think we’re still calling it a Christmas tree here. . .who knows) and did a few more photo’s and then worked our way back to the start of the course, the home of a very nice couple who hosted the whole lot of us for a pot luck brunch.

It was nice – for once I wasn’t the slowest person out there. And, *gasp* I even ran sub-10 minute miles for a while. Now, our run down Virginia Street and all the stops at stop lights, photo ops etc. and my inexperience with the Garmin goofed up my splits. But, it was a heck of a time.

Now for the reality of it all. Whooaaaa, I sure was tired still from the 10 miler on Sunday. I hadn’t fully recovered from the long run. But, that’s GOOD! I mean, I pushed myself today, spent most of my time in the anaerobic heart rate zone, which is good for building speed. I pushed myself, and was very content out there.

Chet pushed Gabriel in the Chariot and he still kicked my butt (no surprise). I saw several friends, some I haven’t seen for a while too, which was very nice.

It was a great New Year’s run. I had a lot of fun, and I’m looking forward to having a great week running and a terrific new year as my new runner self.

Stats:

Distance: 5.76 miles

Time/Pace: 1:o9:21 (with stops and pictures)/12:02 mile pace

Weather: Cold, about 25 degrees when we started, but clear, beautiful and a great morning for running.

The stats in graphical format:

1-1-07.jpg

Blue = Pace

Green = Elevation

Maroon = Heart Rate as a % of MHR

3 Comments leave one →
  1. January 2, 2008 7:51 AM

    Happy New Year!

  2. January 2, 2008 8:31 AM

    You are doing SO great!

    I have a million things I want to say, but only a fraction of time to post….so let me just say

    I TOLD YOU SO.

    I knew all along you had it in you…in the NEW Micheline….not the Micheline of the past….to make this happen. You have ROCKED the weight loss and will continue to ROCK the running scene too. I have no doubts.

    It DOES piss me off that your natural ability seems to trump my training every time though šŸ˜‰ You suck.

    There…I got my jab in šŸ˜›

    2008 is gonna be DA BOMB!!!!

  3. J~mom permalink
    January 2, 2008 9:12 PM

    Great job!! Happy New Year!

    THANKS! Happy New Year! -Micheline

Leave a Reply

