Skip to content

Log: I feel the need for speed.

January 4, 2008

♪ ♫ ♪ Oh the weather outside is frightful . . . ♪ ♫ ♪

Well, we haven’t gotten the winds as expected, but it’s been raining hard and the only thing that would be better was if it had been snow all day long. Oh well.

I wasn’t particularly inclined to go out in the weather this afternoon. Tomorrow’s 13 miles will be out in the muck, so I decided to hit the gym and do 3 on the treadmill.

I jumped on the treadmill and felt good from the get go. I got a wild hair up my arse and decided to do some speed work. So, after a quick warm up, I did a few rounds of speed work.

I was going to go for a full 3 miles, but decided I was being a little silly doing speed work the evening before a planned LSD run. So, I kept my perspective, and knocked it down to 2.5 miles with my cool down.

First speed work in YEARS. I mean many many many years. Felt good.

Oh, and I pulled out an old pair of shorts – my fat girl running shorts. And, wow, they’re BIG on me. How freaking cool is that! Too big, they kept awkwardly riding up on my thighs . . . I HATE that. Now, not only am I having to update my work wardrobe, but now it appears my running wardrobe needs a bit of updating as well.

So here’s my version of speed work:

Distance: 2.4 miles

Time: 25 minutes (10:25 split, including warm up and cool down)

Weather: Indoors. I was sweating like a pig.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

