Skip to content

2008 Log: Redemption run?

January 27, 2008

Not so much. After having a horrid two weeks of running (can we say zero to none) I was determined to get out yesterday. A new ladies running group is forming – moms – and so I decided to join them. I had planned/aspired to get about 7-9 miles or there about. A nice long run, but not too much to hurt me.

Everything started out great. I was feeling pretty good. I could feel the two week hiccup, but I was comfortable. The ladies group met up at Reno High and was going to run along the river path. I had *heard* that from the high school, down the river path, past the McCarran bridge and back again was about 7 miles. that seemed like a good “back on the wagon” distance and involved little thinking or monitoring of the Garmin.

This was a great plan, until I get to the stop light at McCarran on my way back and realize I’ve only gone a little over 3 miles. I didn’t think it was four miles back to the truck. Well, I was contemplating other ways I could add a little more distance into the run. So, onward I go. . . until right about mile 4.2 and it hits me like a ton of bricks – RBS. I start thinking about how far the truck is. I know I’ll be passing by a grocery store very soon so I do my best to hold out for the grocery store. Thank goodness for the store being there, because honestly, I know I wouldn’t have been able to make it back to the car or much farther than the store for that matter.

After my *pit stop* at the store, my gut was toast. I was at 4.5 miles and I figured I had a little less than a mile left back to the truck. I resigned that a 5 mile day would be just dandy. Next weekend, I want to try to get a 10 mile run in. But, that means I have to be consistent with my training this week. Funny, the whole RBS thing had gone away – but that two weeks off (and eating like pure carp) certainly didn’t help. Kind of like going back several steps. Dang. That really bites.

So here’s the stats:

Distance: 5.25

Time: 1:08:37/13:04 pace (that’s with my slow walk to the grocery store trying to stay composed)

Weather: Beautiful! Cold outside with icy roads, but absolutely beautiful.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. zachjacobs permalink
    January 27, 2008 12:17 PM

    I just found your blog and I’ll have to say that for someone training to run their first marathon, your blog is very inspirational. Keep up the good work! I recently ran my longest distance ever of 9 miles yesterday and it was great…a little sore today but great. Keep up the great running!!

    Hey, THANKS! I’m just another slogger working toward a goal. Great job on your nine miler! That’s awesome! Which marathon? Good luck! -Micheline

  2. January 27, 2008 5:28 PM

    Sorry to hear about your RBS, have you tried Zypan?

Leave a Reply

