Skip to content

The push and the pull

January 30, 2008

I admit, I’m really struggling right now.  I NEED to run.  I WANT to run, but I’m having such a hard time pushing it up over other priorities and obligations.  Oy.  What does a girl do.

As I mentioned in my creepy post, running in the mornings or evenings is not a really good viable option right now.  We’re cancelling our gym membership, which I want/need to do as we’re using it like once or twice every 2-3 months.  Makes for very expensive gym visits.  So that’s not a really good option.  I’m busy at work, so carving out even more time in my day from studying, working and attending to my family is just not happening.  And, all this is really frustrating me.

So, for now, I’m just going to get out and run when I can.  The priority for the next five weeks is studying for the bar exam.  After that, we’ll deal with making sure the running happens every day.

Why do I feel like such an ass?  I’m totally failing at this life balance aspiration.  Crap, it just pisses me off.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. January 31, 2008 2:40 PM

    We cancelled our gym memberships and spent the money on a treadmill, my wife loves it and even I use it sometimes, you can hop on and off it at moments notice, no “preping for the gym” or travel time.

  2. February 1, 2008 12:22 PM

    one thing i had to do to fit study and exercise time in is to do them both at the same time… i would put the book i was studying on the magazine rack of the elliptical or on a music stand (i’m also a musician so i already had a good one) and study/exercise away… it may not be as wowing as running, but i passed my EMT exams that way and am now studying my Microsoft certifications that way…

    That’s an awesome idea, and I would, except most of my studying is taking practice multiple choice exams on the computer. LOL. Maybe I can do squats while I answer questions. I’ll squeeze in as much cross-studying as possible! – Micheline

Leave a Reply

