Skip to content

Wholly Moses … Colorado Bar Exam Results are in.

April 30, 2008

Well, for the past three weeks, I have been checking the Colorado Supreme Court website daily (more like 3-10 times daily the past two weeks) looking to see if the results from the bar exam were posted.  It is a horrible feeling waiting.  And, I get the most AWFUL anxiety about this, I mean my heart rate soars to nearly 150 beats per minute, my blood pressure probably shoots up to 190/100 and I am on the verge of hyperventilating.

This is how I felt about 2 weeks ago when the MPRE (Multistate Professional Responsibility Exam) results were released.  That’s the professional responsibility portion of the bar exam administered by a third party.  Anyway, I almost puked just checking that result.  I passed (which is amazing considering I literally studied a day and half).

So, the agonizing wait for the bar exam results continued.  The Supreme Court website stated that the results would be posted NO EARLIER than 10:00 a.m. May 1st.  Chet kindly continued to remind me that was 9:00 a.m. pacific time.  Grrrr.

Anyway, tonight, I need to be working on drafting a reply brief.  I haven’t check my email all evening, so quickly jump onto my email and imagine my surprise when there, in my inbox is an email from Frustrated Bar Examinee and the subject is “Congrats!”  My mind started racing.  I quickly ascertain, Frustrated Bar Examinee, that’s a blogger on the topic of bar exams.  At that second, I couldn’t remember much else.  I open the email and I have this message:

Congratulations on passing the Colorado bar exam!!!  Yay!!!  🙂
 
I can’t believe Colorado actually released results in April… that has to be a first!
 
Congrats again!!

Ummmmmm, my hackles go up.  No, the bar results aren’t supposed to be posted until AFTER 10:00 a.m. TOMORROW!!!!  This is a joke, but if this is a joke, I’m going to be so PIZZED OFF!  Immediately, my heart races, my blood pressure soars, my ears start pounding, my heart sinks – oh gosh, I have to look, but I don’t want to look, but I have to look.

I tote the laptop into our bedroom where Chet’s still awake.  I said to him “Okay, we’re doing this together.”  I had already pulled up the Colorado Supreme Court’s website, and we started scrolling down together . . .

And there it was, my name.  My name is on the pass list!! I PASSED THE EXAM!!!!!!!!  Praise God.  I passed the Colorado Bar!!!!  I FREAKING DID IT!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Oh man, I can’t even begin to express how relieved I am.  I started crying…I know, I’m a big baby.

I owe the Frustrated Bar Examinee a big thank you, because she totally jacked up my anxiety attack!  LOL.  I know that sounds weird, but getting a kind of “preview” took a bit of the edge off.  It wasn’t as bad as it would have been if I blindly looked tomorrow.  So, here’s a shout out to Sarah – THANKS!

The crazy thing is,  I didn’t HAVE to pass this exam.  It’s not like my next meal depended on it.  It’s a pride thing.  I set out to accomplish this goal.  I sacraficed a lot to study.  I worked my BUTT off, and it paid off.  I was terrified of having to tell friends and family that “oh, yah, I didn’t pass.”  And, I don’t have to.

I can’t wait to get my score.  Yes, this is something new to me.  Neither Nevada nor California release your score if you pass the exam.  I guess you can request it (I never did), but apparently Colorado actually sends you your exam score.  I’m very curious.

And, a plug (even though I get nothing for this) but the study program I used, Micromash, I really do recommend it.  This is the second bar exam I’ve passed using their program, and I’m extremely pleased with the results (particularly this time where I really only spent about 8 weeks studying for the exam). 

I’m on cloud nine!!!  I passed the Colorado Bar Exam!  Now I just need to get a date night because Chet and I are going out for a VERY NICE DINNER and we’re going to Celebrate! 

I passed.  Yes sir ree, I passed.  Whoopie! 

10 Comments leave one →
  1. May 1, 2008 4:13 AM

    YOU PASSED…. AWESOME… i’ve been missing you… it sounds that a great burden has now been lifted from you…

    THANKS! I know, I’ve been missing blogging. My hubby just made a comment to me about it, and that was shocking. I didn’t really think he *supported* it. LOL. I’m going to try to make a comeback! – Micheline

  2. May 1, 2008 8:48 AM

    CONGRATULATIONS! That’s a huge accomplishment! Make Chet buy you a fabulous dessert on your dinner out!

    Thank you! I’ve got better plans that a fabulous dessert – a great bottle of wine!!! But, I’ll demand the dessert too!!! I can’t wait! – Micheline

  3. Kim permalink
    May 2, 2008 12:12 PM

    Congrats!!!!!! I too just found out that I passed Colorado. Hope you’re celebrating as much as I am.

    Congratulations to you too!!! Isn’t it a great feeling. – Micheline

  4. May 4, 2008 6:57 PM

    Congratulations! That must feel great. One less thing to worry about on your next run! 😉

    Thank you!!!! Yes, but that also assumes I’m getting my arse out for the next run. *giggle* -Micheline

  5. May 6, 2008 7:02 PM

    That is awesome!

    I passed too and was also checking the site about 10 times a day. My next meal and my life depended on it! Tons of pain when checking the website. I had to read my name like 10 times to ensure it was me! I used Barbri again (not a good system) and this is also my second exam. The whole process disgusted me as it was very punitive!

    If the goal of the CO bar is to protect the public and ensure newly minted lawyers know CO law then why do they test with national standardized common law subject matter (MPRE/MBE/MPT)? Also, why in the #*&%(* do they try to make it so tricky? The national conference of bar examiners are on a power trip in my opinion. The state bar examiners have no choice, but to use those test! Stupid!

    I think they should allow people to waive in upon completion of 300+ hours of community service. At least that time would be put to good use, rather than wasted on relearning the same subject matter!

    Happy Lawyering!

    Congratulations on passing the bar!! I do have to agree with your opinion regarding whether the bar exam structure as it is really tests whether an individual will be a competent lawyer. It’s a tough call. But, I do think the MPT is a good mechanism of testing the skills and qualifications of a personal practical ability. -Micheline

  6. May 6, 2008 9:21 PM

    I should clarify that this is my second exam, a first exam in another state where I have had a license to practice law for 5 years. This is my first exam in CO and it was much more painful to me than taking it the first time. Who knows maybe I am getting old. But, I really think if you have a license and are an active attorney there is simply no need to retake a general test again. Just a waste of time, felt like taxes too me!

    Haha. Yah, I’m licensed in two jurisdictions already. I think there is a lot of room for discussion regarding the relevance of an exam for attorneys who are licesned for a period of time in another jurisdiction who are in good standing. The more I talk to people, the more I hear a lot of discontent with the testing of practicing attorneys. Certainly, personally, I’d love to have portability without having to test. But, I don’t see it going by the way side any time soon. -Micheline

  7. August 30, 2009 7:28 PM

    How long did it take you to write this blog.

    *Micheline here* Don’t know really what you mean. Varying amounts of time. As you can see, sometimes I’m quite devoted, other times not so much.

  8. David permalink
    November 15, 2009 4:39 PM

    Just came across your blog while researching study materials for the Colorado bar exam. Congrats for passing. Can you recommend particular study materials and strategies? And did you take any classes? Thanks in advance.

    *Micheline’s response* I relied on Micromash to study for the Colorado exam. I recommend it for the following reasons: (1) Micromash offers a “pass guarantee” (i.e., you don’t pass, you don’t pay) – however, to qualify for the pass guarantee you have to fulfill certain requirements, which I believe are critical for passing the exam; and (2) it is a self-study course.

    With respect to the pass guarantee, the first requirement is to submit several (I believe 6) essays, 5 of which are read by a mentor who provides constructive feedback. The second requirement is to complete their MBE question review, which involves taking and getting correct 1000 MBE questions. I personally found that getting all the MBE questions done is an ominous task, but by the time you’re done sitting in the exam you recognize basic fact patters (the exact words won’t necessarily be the same) and you know the answer. Feedback on essays is good, but really, taking as many practice essays as you can muster is even better.

    I like a self study course better because not only is it easier to fit into working full-time, which I did while studying for the Colorado exam, but I can customize the study program to fit me and my strengths and weaknesses. I typically have a good handle on certain subjects, so there is not need for me to spend hours in a lecture on those subjects when I can review a condensed outline of the material and I’m better served by doing practice questions vs. subjects which are not so strongly grasp, I can spend more time reading the full outlines and devoting to memorization of key elements of the subject.

    Overall, I find Micromash to be a very good study program for people who have a relative good grasp of essay writing skills but who have a weakness in the MBE or multiple choice questions. Conversely, other programs, like BarBri is good if you just need a nuts and bolts review of the law and want a structured program set up for you. But if you need help writing essays or passing the MBE, I don’t think BarBri goes far enough.

    My weakness was and will always be the MBE, which is why Micromash is such a good fit. Having the carrot of having to finish all the questions to qualify for the pass guarantee was perfect. And doing all the questions, many multiple times, drilled the information into my head and consequently cut back on the time I had to spend reviewing the nuts and bolts of the MBE subjects. So I was able to spend more time on the state specific subjects during outline review time.

    But, regardless of which study program you use, disciple in key. I studied essentially for 8 weeks, and during that time I had no life. I woke up at 5:30 a.m. and studied until 7:30 when I then got read for work. I’d get home from work and study until 10:00, 11:00 or 12:00 at night and get up the next morning to do it all over again. Saturdays I would spend most of the day at the library alone studying. I generally only studied for a couple hours and used that day to spend with my family. But, it was a commitment I made and it was only for a short period of time. Also, finding good mentors is another key, especially if you need help on your essays. Finally, stop studying on the Sunday before the exam.

    Probably more than you bargained for, but I hope this is helpful.

    • November 24, 2009 4:30 AM

      Micheline – Congrats on passing the bar, and thank you for the kind words about the MicroMash program. We are very proud to assist thousands of students, just like you each and every year in their efforts to pass the various state bar exams across the country.

      I wanted to chime in and clarify one point in the event your commenter (or any future readers) have questions. At the time you took the exam, our Pass Guarantee required specific hurdles be met to qualify for the guarantee. We recently modified the Pass Guarantee in an effort to better serve our customers and to eliminate work for our staff. The Guarantee is now very easy to understand and qualify for.

      Our new Pass Guarantee is this:

      “Purchase any MicroMash Bar Review program and we guarantee that you will pass the bar exam. If for any reason you do not pass, we will renew your materials at no cost until you do pass. ”

      For a more detailed look at why we made the change, and what it means to students, please visit the blog post I wrote on the topic. http://barexambrief.com/2009/10/14/micromash-changes-pass-guarantee/

      Congrats again on passing!

      Best regards,

      Sean McGinnis
      Managing Director
      MicroMash Bar Review

      • nevadamtnbear permalink*
        November 24, 2009 11:09 AM

        Sean,

        Thanks for commenting. Glad to hear MicroMash is maintaining the pass guarantee. Although, I will say that the fine print/asterisk/carrot of having to meet certain hurdles to qualify for the pass guarantee was one of the things I attributed to the strength of the MicroMash program. For me, knowing that in order to qualify for the pass guarantee I HAD to complete the MBE questions and written essays was what kept me on task and focused on the goal. Mornings when I woke up and didn’t feel like getting out of bed to do my planned 25 MBE questions answered correctly or read a set number of pages from an outline in preparation for a practice exam, knowing that if I didn’t do it then I’d be behind the 8-ball for meeting my pass guarantee.

        I’m certain MicroMash did the market research before changing the guarantee, but for me, I believe that was a critical component to my success. For anyone sitting for a bar exam, the review course is only part of the overall expense. Real costs, including examination fees, travel expenses (if you have to travel), time off of work if a person doesn’t have leave, coupled with the intangible costs of time away from friends/family, sacrifice of sleep, etc. are all things I considered as part of the benefit of the pass guarantee. I knew that if I did exactly what I was supposed to according to the MicroMash guidelines, all that I invested would be worthwhile by only having to do it once.

        Micheline

Leave a Reply

