Skip to content

You’re Doing It Wrong!

May 4, 2008

This is essentially what came to me today as I was knocking another half-marathon off my list. I’m doing it all wrong. Likely, REALLY wrong.

I’ve got it backwards. Tell me what you think. First, I start out with a race, like a half-marathon. Then, I get motivated to run. So I start training and building my distance and then I taper to nothing and stop running.

Hummmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmm. Maybe I should try it the other way. Like, starting out at nothing and then building to high mileage and THEN do a race.

Awww, heck. Why? This seems to work okay for me. LOL.

Today I ran the Rock-n-River Half Marathon in Reno. I have not run since ummmmm January 27, 2008. I’m dead serious. I even *lost* my running shoes for a period of 6 weeks. That’s how bad it’s been. In my typical style, I signed up for something relatively ambitious with the *hope* that it would get me motivated again to get back into my training. It didn’t.

But, it’s only 13.1 miles (I know, saying only is kind of a weird mentality) and if I had to walk the entire thing, I would. Well, I didn’t.

I ran it in under 3:03 minutes!!! I’m not sure what my final time was, but it was somewhere between 3:00 and 3:03. I stopped my clock at 3:02:56 and that was after going through the finish, walking around the barrier, talking with Chet for a few seconds and starting to walk down the street. So, I’m waiting for the results to be posted, but it was faster than Big Sur, and I’m amazed.

Today I set out to run with a friend of mine. I had planned on running the entire race with her, but I knew if the time came we would have to go our separate ways. You see, she’s been training for the Reno Tahoe Odyssey (which I can’t run this year because of my trial). Me, I haven’t training, so I let it figure we’d work it out.

I planned on doing a 3 min. on/1 min. walk routine for the run. This was working awesome, but as the mileage passed, S was found it more her style to be in a less structured routine. She would book it down the down hills and walk the flats and uphills. Honestly, for me, I just couldn’t get my groove on. It was a successful strategy for her, but it was reeking havoc on me. Finally, I just had to go out onto my own and do my own thing.

I felt great until mile 10, actually, it was right after I saw Chet and G who met me at the aid station at mile 10. Suddenly, my fuel tank was on E. I mean, seriously, there were barely any fumes there to burn. I hadn’t eaten breakfast, and it all caught up with me. Those last three miles were a bear. But, I persevered!

Another half-mary down. My pace was 13:49 and I’m stoked. It’s done! Now it’s time to start training again.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. May 5, 2008 8:41 AM

    wooo whooo… half marathon with out training… never say never…

    Yah, no kidding. Now, I’d like to see how I actually do and what my time would be if I really trained for one of these. LOL. I could probably do a sub-2 hour! -Micheline

  2. May 6, 2008 7:09 AM

    Hey, thanks for the comment – Nice to see another Reno running blogger as well! Congrats on getting out there. Doing it right or wrong, whatever, as long as you’re doing it…

    Thanks! That’s what I say, if I’m out doing it, I’m out doing it! Better than sitting on the sofa eating bon bons (though right now that sounds rather nice too). -Micheline

Leave a Reply

