Skip to content

13.1 – again

May 17, 2008

Silver State 50/50 & Trail Half-Marathon Report

How do you like these apples?

So, today with 96-degree temperatures, a couple hills, over 80 oz. of water, and a darn good time. That’s my apple today. Maybe I should say it was a peach.

Don’t get me wrong, it was TOUGH, really tough. Hot as heck, but I really enjoyed myself, even without a lick of training.

As I was out today, and I hit the first major really steep up hill (it was right before mile 6, as I was going up an incredibly steep hill, I thought to myself how sad I was Pokey didn’t come up to do this run with me. I know she would have been expressing her deep gratitude for being invited to partake in a course with her name written all over it.

Then things flattened out and I realized there was no way Pokey would have wanted to run a course with so much flat and rolling terrain.

But then, I hit the last big uphill – and I realized Pokey would truly regret her unavoidable hair washing appointment today, because she would have killed to have climbed that hill. I had to lock step (a.k.a. “rest step“) my way up the hill, but once I reached the top – hallelujah – the breeze was so refreshing and I knew it was all down hill from there (well, for the most part).

I had started with my Garmin on the 3:1 ratio, that very quickly went out the window, so every 3 and 1 minute, I would hear the “beep, beep, beep” of my Garmin, and I blissfully ignored it. I had it set for, gosh who knows how many repetitions – well, eventually, I used up all those and then I could see my actual time (there’s something to be said for not really knowing how long you’ve been out there and how far you’ve gone). I was about 4 miles from the end and I was at 3:30. WOW, I might actually finish in under 4 hours.

Well, that lit a fire in my shorts, and I tried to start moving it. I have to be especially careful going down hill due to my extraordinarily screwed up ankles (one reconstructive surgery, too many injuries to count, including torn deltoid ligaments), so it’s a delicate balance between going fast and sustaining yet another dehabilitating injury.

And alas, I crossed the finish line in 3:58:30!!! Whoohoo, I beat four hours! I’ve uploaded everything into MotionBased (finally got it working). So you can view it if you’d like.

Throughout the day as I was making my way, I gained a whole new respect for my husband. Wholly crap – he does this for 100 *bleeping* miles!?!?!? Okay, next time you drive 100 miles, just think how it would be running that distance, all at once, without a break to sleep. Now, imagine doing that on a rocky trail – for 100 miles!!!! Dude, it was amazingly humbling to realize what an amazing achievement his races are.

It was a tremendous day. I had a fabulous time – really. I walked the whole thing pretty much. But, really, did you expect me to run that she-at? No way! I found my pace, my personal groove and I really had a good time. It was a total blast and I’d do it again.

This time I even have to say, training may not have made it as much fun, as I would have likely pushed myself a lot harder. Rather, this time, I just took it easy and had a wonderful enjoyable time.

Finally, I’d like to just give a shout out to Stan Ostrom for putting on an excellent event and to all the volunteers out there. There’s nothing better than great volunteers who are as happy to see you as you are to see them. I know, without the volunteers, events like this can’t make it. So kudo’s to all.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. May 18, 2008 5:02 AM

    Congrats. Even with training, in that heat I’d be passed out by the side of the road. Actually, I’d be unconscious rollling down the hill. As the rest of you yelled “Pudgy cold weather runner coming.” 4 hours is amazing.

    Now, if you’ll excuse me, I’m going to check the difference in elevation between Gettysburg and DC. (Maybe they snuck a mountain in there when I wasn’t looking.)

  2. May 19, 2008 8:18 AM

    sounds like you had fun… never give up…

Leave a Reply

