Skip to content

Tahoe Rim Trail Endurance Runs

July 13, 2008

Well, this weekend is the Tahoe Rim Trail Endurance Runs, the 50k, 50 mile and 100 mile. Chet’s running the 100 mile and I’ll be staffing Tunnel Creek aid station again. I’m excited.

Today was the last big meeting to get all the gear cleaned (and sanitized). We got all the pop ups put up and double checked for functionality. We cleaned and sanitized all the water containers and drink containers. Chairs are checked for black widows. And plans are nearly finalized for the aid stations.

As David said in his last email 5 – 4 – 3 – 2 – 1 …. the time is nearly here.

Hopefully, the smoke stays away, or at least not as bad as it has been here as of late. There wasn’t any talk about potentially canceling the runs, but given the fact that air quality has been a factor in several cancellations as of late, it has to be on the back of everyone’s mind, including mine. But, I will continue to pray for good weather and north-east winds.

I’ll be heading up to Tunnel Creek on Friday night and be rip roaring and ready to go first thing Saturday morning. I may be handling the scales again this time around. If that in fact happens again, I’m definitely taking GSE (Grapefruit Seed Extract) and making my own hand sanitizing station. After touching some 100 hundred milers at least 5 times last year, I ended up with some nasty stomach bug.

It should be a lot of fun. Carol, the captain is back again this year. In addition, we’re going to have the knowledgeable assistance of the Silver State Striders. Stan Ostrom and company are going to be up there, with their gear and immense knowledge and experience in running a major aid station. And, this year, I’ve been ordered to actually sleep (Chet’s being all demanding about this for some weird reason. I mean, the hour of sleep I got last year was fine after all). I’m really excited about a truly GREAT year.

So, for all of you out there who look at this blog, say hi as you pass through Tunnel Creek. I’ll be the dorky gal with glasses and the gray TRT hat from last year. And, GOOD LUCK. I can’t wait to see some of the familiar faces out there – The Canook’s from “Club Fat Ass”, Troska, our friends from the Bay, and everyone else I’m totally forgetting right now. Look’n forward to seeing you all!

One Comment leave one →
  1. July 13, 2008 8:35 PM

    Hey, that’s cool that you’ll be there – I’ll say hi on my way through in the 50k. It’ll be nice to finally meet you –

Leave a Reply

