Skip to content

2008 Running Log: c25k

July 15, 2008

Well, as I get back into some sort of regular running routine, perhaps, I decided to take it very conservative.  Being that I’m pregnant, it doesn’t seem wise to get over ambitious.  So over the next couple months I want to build up to 12-15 mile weeks and then just maintain that throughout the rest of the pregnancy.

So, in an attempt to be very conservative (not at all like me when it comes to training), I decided to embark on the Couch to 5k program.  Easy jog/walk mix as you build endurance.  *sigh*  Easy enough and not something over ambitious – right.

Well, it was VERY difficult to not to try to push a lot harder.  The “jog” periods this morning were, well, way too easy.  It over all was a very easy workout, and that’s hard for me.  I don’t know, I just have a mental hang up on this issue as I know I’m capable of doing more, and I want to do more.  But the responsible part of my brain (yah, it’s hidden way in the back) knows that I need to take it really easy.

This is just not my character, and very difficult.  It’s like, it seems too elementary for me, I’m better than the C25k, I’m stronger, I’m tougher, I’m not a wimp.  But, I need to do this gradually because deep down inside, I know it’s what is best for the baby.  Oy vey.   This is going to be one of the biggest challenges for me EV-ER!

So, I did day one of the C25k.  Afterwards I went upstairs for my 12 week O.B. appointment.  It doesn’t look like I gained any weight (yah) and my blood pressure is awesome!  All great news on the pregnancy front.  I’m determined stay active and do whatever I can to avoid getting pregnancy induced hypertension/preeclampsia again this time around.  So, I’m on a good start.  I’m feeling better and all is good.

So, I’ll be “training” for a 5k between now and October.  Hopefully this journey will teach me more than I can even imagine.

One Comment leave one →
  1. July 17, 2008 11:28 AM

    Just wanted to say congrats (found your blog through Karen). Good for you for running through the pregnancy! Keep us updated. 🙂

    Thanks! I’ll definitely keep you updated. -Micheline

Leave a Reply

