Skip to content

Yoga & Pilates 101

July 28, 2009

I did my research before showing up to my first yoga class.  I didn’t want to look like a total rookie and make a complete ass of myself.  So, I gracefully avoided some of the typical rookie mistakes.

First, I wore comfortable, yet close fitting clothes.  So, at least the bulges were covered with fabric rather than my shirt ending up around my shoulders in the downward dog position.  Second, I put my hair up, so I wasn’t constantly trying to get my hair out of my face.  Score.

I did confess to the verynice yoga instructor my complete and utter inexperience.  It was helpful, as she was nice enough to gently work with me to assure I had reasonably decent form.

But, let’s get to the good stuff.  Dude, yoga’s not easy.  What the heck!  I figured I’d go in there, get all touchy feely with my breathing, do some unique stretching and walk out all fresh faced and fanciful.  NOT!

First, I know I’m seriously out of shape.  But, wow, I felt like a huge blob of gelatenous Nickelodeon Green Slime.  I thank God I don’t have shoulder issues, otherwise, I can’t imagine how sore I would be.  Second, it was nice that the room wasn’t full of a bunch of yoga experts who had been practicing the art for 20 years.  While I was certainly the most inexperienced person in the room, I didn’t feel like I stood out like a bright red throbbing sore thumb.

My only complaint had to do with the temperature.  This wasn’t Burkam yoga, well officially.  Unofficially, the room was so hot, I was sweating like my husband (*smooch*).  At the end of the session I was nauseous and desperate for an S-Cap.  Didn’t think I’d need to take salt tabs to get through a yoga session.  LOL.  But, it was surprisingly and well honestly … enjoyable.  I think I’ll actually go back.

This morning I got up to meet my friend Claire for a 6:00 am pilates session at the gym.  Fortunately, the room had cooled off from the night session.  Now, the pilates session was much more what I had expected.  It was invigorating enough to rev me up for the morning, but not so much to make me sick to my stomach or wishing I could go back to bed.

So, two good work out sessions down.

When looking and planning out this week, I was ambitiously looking at trying to do yoga Monday and Friday, pilates Tuesday and Thursday, and get to the gym over lunch Tuesday – Friday.  I realized this morning, one of my faults (which leads to me not being able to sustain a consistent workout routine) is my overambition.  Also, I need to be mindful that I do have an injury that I’m trying to nurse back to health.  So, I am trying to be reasonable and rational, and take things slow.  I’m going to see how this week goes with just the yoga and pilates.  I’ll try to fit in a lunch time swim or elliptical tomorrow, as I do want to do a 30 day streak.  But, I’m not going to attempt double workouts right now.  Seems like a good idea to give my body some time to adjust to doing the other stuff and then add in the lunch time doubles.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

