Skip to content

Goal Numero Uno Accomplished

August 13, 2009

The alarm went off this morning at 5am.  I didn’t really hear it, or maybe it was that I didn’t want to hear it.  After all, having the radio come on is pretty easy to just decide to sleep through.  However, somewhere about 5:18 a.m. my brain said to my body – “Get Up.”  And the body complied.

I managed to get dressed and out the door without waking anyone up, which was a nice thing, at least I’m assuming Chet appreciated that fact I didn’t wake the kids up at 5:30 this morning.  As I stepped outside, I realized it was a bit chilly, which I had planned on.  I pulled up my Moben sleeves and proceeded to get all my reflective flashy stuff on.  I then realized that the flashy do-hicky armband’s battery was dead.  Bummer.  But, it wasn’t too big of an issue considering that it was already starting to get light.

Off I went.  I started out walking.  After all, it’s been probably more than a year since I’ve actually legitimately RAN, and I’m really trying to do this differently this time.  I am seriously trying to ease back into this because I don’t want to end up in the same cycle I’ve repeated for the past 15 years.  So, I started out walking with a simple goal in mind – complete 2 miles.

I have a practically spot on 2 mile loop from the house, and off I went.  I figured if I felt REALLY good, then I’d go ahead and kick it up a notch and throw a jog in there.  But, that was not a goal nor was it really even an aspiration.  This morning was simply about one thing – get  up at the appointed time and completing the planned distance.  Time was not a concern, nor was the means of accomplishing it as long as I did it upright and with a smile on my face.

Immediately I was taken back almost two years where I was getting up every morning and running, and why I enjoyed it so much.  There is something tremendously peaceful about being out early in the morning.  The air is cool and it is quiet.  There is not a lot of noise from traffic, people working, etc.  There is peacefulness early in the morning.  Also there is something wonderful about experiencing sunrise.

As I passed through the regional park near the house, I was deeply caught up in thought as the warmth of the sun rising began to my back.  That’s the other thing I remember I enjoyed and I realize how much I’ve missed – just having that deep thought process.  There is something to be said about how you can really work through things on your mind that are bugging you out alone during a workout.  Maybe it’s because you have extra oxygen invigorating every cell?  Maybe it’s because your mind clears and you’re more open to deep thoughts without a lot of distraction from the telephone/computer/television/family.  It’s probably both and much more.

The two miles went by rather quickly and I was reminded of yet another thing enjoyable about early morning workouts – seeing so much and watching the world wake up around you.  This morning was the accomplishment of my first goal.  So, now that I accomplished that it is time to set a second goal, and that is to repeat this morning tomorrow morning, but maybe a different 2 mile loop.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

